Quick Links

2017 Clarke Prize Award Ceremony and Lecture



The 2018 NWRI Clarke Prize will be held

October 26, 2018 in Orange County, CA!

Click Here for More Information!

Photos from the 2017 Award Ceremony and Lecture



The 2017 recipient of the Athalie Richardson Irvine Clarke Prize was Charles N. Haas, Ph.D.  Haas is the LD Betz Professor of Environmental Engineering and Head of the Department of Civil, Architectural, and Environmental Engineering at Drexel University in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.




NWRI established the Clarke Prize in 1993 to honor outstanding individuals who

have implemented better water science research and technology. The Clarke

medallion and $50,000 award are presented annually.




The Twenty-Fourth Annual Clarke Prize Award Ceremony and Lecture, featuring (from L to R): Mr. James Irvine Swinden, grandson of Mrs. Athalie Richardson Irvine Clarke; Joan Rose; Menachem Elimelech; James Barnard; Charles Haas, the 2017 Clarke Prize Award recipient; Vernon Snoeyink; Perry McCarty; and Kevin M. Hardy, Executive Director of NWRI.




The 2017 honoree, Charles N. Haas, with Kerry Hamilton of Drexel University at the Clarke Prize Award Ceremony in Irvine, California.




Guests mingle at the Twenty-Fourth Annual Clarke Prize Award Ceremony and Lecture, held at the Irvine Marriott Hotel. 



Mr. James Irvine Swinden and his wife Madeline at the 2017 Clarke Prize Ceremony.



Mr. Swinden awards Dr. Haas with the Clarke Prize medallion, which bears the image of Mr. Swinden's grandmother, Athalie Richardson Irvine Clarke.




2017 Clarke Prize recipient Charles Haas delivers his lecture, "A Biologist to Engineers, and an Engineer to Biologists" at the Irvine Marriott Hotel.



Visit the following links to download photos from previous Clarke Prize Award Ceremonies: