Quick Links




The 2018 NWRI Clarke Prize will be held

October 26, 2018 in Orange County, CA!

Click Here for More Information!

About the Clarke Prize 

The Clarke Prize is named after Mrs. Athalie Richardson Irvine Clarke, a native Southern Californian who was active in both business and philanthropy.  As co-founder of the National Water Research Institute (NWRI), Mrs. Clarke recognized the vital importance of water and promoted better water science and technology. In honor of her vision, NWRI established the Clarke Prize in 1994 to recognize scientists who best exemplify Mrs. Clarke's dedication to finding solutions to the nation's water resource problems.


The Clarke Prize consists of a medallion and $50,000 prize.  It is one of only a dozen water prizes awarded worldwide, and has been distinguished as one of the most prestigious awards in the world.  


Nomination Guide and Application Cover Sheet


Nominations for the 2018 Clarke Prize Award are now closed.


A recipient HAS BEEN CHOSEN!

CLICK HERE for more information!


For questions, please email clarke@nwri-usa.org or call (714) 378-3278.  


Important Dates for the 2018 Clarke Prize 



Nomination Requirements 

Self-nominations are not accepted.

Selection Criteria

The Clarke Prize recipient is selected by the Clarke Prize Executive Committee after careful consideration of all qualifying nominees. The fields of interests of Clarke Prize nominees include, but are not limited to, engineering, physical and chemical sciences, biological sciences, health sciences, political sciences, and planning and public policy.


The Executive Committee will review nominees based on the following criteria:

Clarke Prize Executive Committee 


The Clarke Prize recipient is selected by the Clarke Prize Executive Committee after careful consideration of all nominations. The Committee includes:



George Tchobanoglous, Ph.D., P.E.
Professor Emeritus in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
University of California, Davis
2003 Clarke Prize Laureate




Menachem Elimelech, Ph.D.
Roberto C. Goizueta Professor of Chemical and Environmental Engineering
Yale University

2005 Clarke Prize Laureate


Jeffrey Mosher

Chief Research and Strategic Planning Officer
Water Environment & Reuse Foundation


Joan B. Rose, Ph.D.
Nowlin Endowed Chair for Water Research
Michigan State University
2001 Clarke Prize Laureate


Jerald L. Schnoor, Ph.D.
Allen S. Henry Chair in Engineering
The University of Iowa

2010 Clarke Prize Laureate


Michael P. Wehner

Assistant General Manager

Orange County Water Dsistrict